I have tutored groups of students at the middle school and high school level; I have taught methods for student teachers and have supervised student teachers in their field placements.  I have also taught at the undergraduate and graduate levels, including graduate level methods courses in which I taught graduate students how to teach undergraduates (preparing them to become college faculty), observing them teach, holding post-observation discussions, and mentoring them as future faculty.  I have held leadership positions in which I supervised staff reporting up to me.

And then I stumbled across this essay about strategies for teaching at the middle school level and found it very interesting.

It seems to me that the strategies described in this essay are applicable to teaching at every level as well as to mentoring, with some adaptation as to content and nature of task, of course.

The strategies recommended in the essay presume a purposeful approach to the teaching and/or mentoring dynamic in which the teacher is professionally engaged not merely in imparting a body of knowledge, some content, but also in imparting skills and strategies that will enable the learner or mentee to succeed with future challenges that will have different content, in other words, for the learner or the mentee to become autonomously successful.

As teachers and as leaders we owe it to our students and our mentees to be purposefully focused on their success and their development into independent and successful professionals.  The strategies described in this essay might be helpful to consider.

